1
11
submitted 12 hours ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

For a week, it was worth a giggle. A flustered trackside nascar reporter attempting to avoid cursing on the news? That’s hilarious. Like every joke and/or horse, it was rapidly beaten past death. The body still receives unironic thwacks to this day.

Then it was revived as satire and resumed being funny for a fresh week or two. This was over a year ago. The horse is not just dead, it is not even a paste or powder, it has been completely aerosolized in a closed crimson room where people fan it back and forth in remembrance of beating its corpse.

Biden’s the best chance for continued democracy in the US, but I've been breathing in Brandon particulate since 2021 and I’m afraid it will give me lung cancer.

2
8
submitted 12 hours ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]
3
66
submitted 21 hours ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

We parents are caught in a paradox. We desperately want to keep our children safe and ensure their success. We are also often terrified that they will get hurt and that they will fail—so we do everything we can to prevent that from happening. Yet many of those very efforts to manage our fears have paradoxically reduced our children’s safety and their odds of success.

For over two decades, I have researched children’s development, injury prevention, and outdoor risky play. I have learned that when we prioritize children’s play (especially the kind of play that involves some risk and lack of supervision) and the freedom to play how they choose, we help create environments where children and youth thrive. When we don’t, the consequences can be dire.

4
54
submitted 1 day ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

This might just sound like the same old shit others voice with the recent gaza genocide, but ive hated israel for far longer. In high school i read a book called the olive grove, its based on a true story of a Palestinian family that lost every thing to the zionist movement. It follows 3 generation of the family from the first world war till after the second. It tells of the horrors they faced by the us backed terrorists taking their home and land turning away from the atrocities being committed. Its heart breaking, and when i read it in 2009 i didnt fully understand but seeing all the shit done now, i just think this cycle of hate started and can not be stopped.

Idk what else to say, i mean i could go on and on but i dont have the mental capacity to do so while drinking. I recommend others to read the book, it was a very good read when i was a high schooler and i plan to start it again as soon as i can find my copy.

Here is a link to the book if anyone is interested in reading it https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2327988.The_Olive_Grove

5
115
submitted 1 day ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

The most recent being the jeans trend. It was funny, I get why everyone enjoys a good shitpost. Some of the shitpost are top quality and fun for all to enjoy. But after a couple of days the shitposts just turn to shit posts and its just upvote farming low quality content and kills the joke.

6
-18
submitted 12 hours ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

sometimes...

HBU, what do You all think 🤔 ?

7
37
submitted 1 day ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

several posts per day here are a clear troll posts and bids for drama but are not removed. until this community’s mods start acknowledging and responding to this problem, this community is simply providing a platform for drama fiends who get off on making you upset. simply put, this is both destructive and frankly not fun.

and i’d like to point out that reddit’s r/unpopularopinion bans political posts. not saying that this is the best move for this sub in particular, but it is something that can perhaps give guidance on what can be done.

8
7
submitted 1 day ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

I'm talking about hypotheticals. Unless you drill the limitations of a situation into people's noggins over years of experience, they seem incapable of accepting the hypothetical and must also blurt out "well no I wouldn't do either!" as if they'd made some great breakthrough against the original idea.

It's probably more accurate and general to say people tend towards the box of their lived experiences. Make the box bigger and they will be stuck deep inside it, but make it smaller and they will keep pushing out. But in my experience the box is usually smaller larger than bigger.

9
1
submitted 22 hours ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

3th acc

10
5
submitted 1 day ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

In my view, the absence of social media won't necessarily lead to increased social interaction among people. Instead, it may result in individuals seeking solitary enjoyment, which could potentially lead to various negative consequences.

Relevant Links:

11
-19
submitted 21 hours ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

I see CEO's as the last working person in the system. They are at least putting in the time and effort to make money. The are "the last working man/woman" in the chain up to the owners. The real travesty is the owners who get all the money without doing any actual work.

If the CEO makes less money, do you think you'd get more? The answer is no. A company will control costs and not pay employees more than they have to. Your salary has nothing to do with the CEOs salary and at least in theory you have a chance to become CEO... more of a chance than you have of becoming an owner.

The inherited wealth, the hedge funds, the owners... they get all the return. They get all the rewords. Even my boss, who started the company I work at, he makes his money by being an owner. His salary as a CEO is pennies vs his salary owning the company. The success of the company should be shared amongst the employees who made it happen, and the truth is they aren't. That's the real kick to the nuts, not the salary of the CEO.

12
-1
submitted 22 hours ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]
13
3
submitted 2 days ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

I mean it’s right there in his name. Also I did a book report on him in middle school. Actually he was an ineffective president who steered America right into the great depression, but he had a good one-liner.

14
19
submitted 3 days ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]
15
68
submitted 4 days ago* (last edited 3 days ago) by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

"The US should do X and they suck because they don't!" Each state has it's own laws on education. Some places suck, some do not. It's not a monolith.

"The US has shitty beer lol" We have some of the best beer in the world but it's local/state/region only and never exported unlike fancy Euro beer.

The US for better or worse is a, hmmm 🤔 a unity of government states under a federation called America. It's very hard to get federal laws and bills passed, especially for education. The states want the power to chooses for themselves what they do, and the federal government hangs above them, sometimes intervening.

We are a huge country that has a relatively unique circumstance of government, population, and young brutal history. I'm a Californian and I live in the Bay Area which almost literally a different country than most of America, especially the South and Midwest.

I'm so sick of people, especially smug Europeans, talking like they know Americans and America but they don't really know shit about us except the movies and going to NYC and Miami.

Yes I am having a bad day.

To be honest I love Europe and have friends there that I miss dearly! I've been many times. But dumbassery is dumbassery.

EDIT: You people are an exhausting swarm of pecking ravens and I've spent all the "toxic" energy I want arguing with half you because you just hear what you want to hear and fit the stereotype I loathe I think you only commented out of trained reflex and a few of you are just unsophisticated haters. Whatever, fuck you, and all that jazz.

16
-55
submitted 1 day ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

He was a very good navigator, a charmer, and he brought down all the underdeveloped apes living there from the trees.

They were sacrificing babies for rain ffs

17
13
submitted 4 days ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]
18
73
submitted 5 days ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

The people who say they need 3 cups of black coffee to start their day are just addicts with a high tolerance that experience mild withdrawal symptoms each morning.

If you feel like that, it's your body crying for you to take a break.

If you like an occasional cup of coffee or energy drink to get through something, then that's fine. But if you ever feel like one isn't working like it used to, you should take a break from caffeine to reset your tolerance, not up the dosage like an addict.

19
319
submitted 6 days ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

I'm done, I've been banned for expressing a different opinion (without insulting or personally attacking anyone), I've been accused of evading a ban with multiple accounts (this is my only account I've ever had on any lemmy instance), I've had people selectively ignore my comments and accuse me of things which I never said, and I've had people ignore valid criticisms and keep attacking me.

Reddit has many issues with trolls, one-sided discussion, and just general bullshit, but many Lemmy instances are way worse. The newfound freedom of Lemmy has attracted many extremists, from both sides, and many of them are moderators, who are more than happy to remove any contrarian opinions. This results in discussions being echo chambers

20
94
submitted 6 days ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]
21
6
submitted 4 days ago* (last edited 4 days ago) by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

The ability to up- and downvote posts and comments is useful but the score should not be displayed to the users and you shouldn't be able to enable it even if you wanted to. This means both, posts made by you as well as by others.

Nobody wants to see their messages get downvoted. This is bad for our mental health as individuals but especially as a group. It's like walking up to a person on the street, saying "I don't like you" and then moving on. You're free to not like (downvote) someone but they don't need to hear it. If you really want them to know then write a message and explain yourself.

Upvotes on the other hand skews the reality and encourages groupthink. People say what is popular even if they don't fully buy it themselves and conversely refrain from saying things they truly believe because they then dont get the upvotes and get downvoted instead.

Seeing the scores also primes the reader. When something is heavily upvoted for example you assume it to be true/good instead of using your own judgement to decide.

22
64
submitted 6 days ago* (last edited 5 days ago) by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

Housing is something people need, and is similarly a necessity like food or electricity. It needs a lot of money to keep in a livable shape, plus constant attention, and will lose its value if just left in place. As such it's not an investment, unless the market isn't working like it's supposed to.

When there was the long period of "low inflation" after the 2008 housing crisis, it's because we didn't consider housing prices a part of the inflation – if housing getting more expensive would've been taken into account we should've never had such a long period of low interest rates. If rents going up is inflation, appreciation should be as well.

As such, housing getting more expensive should be considered a bad thing, as it leads people to mistakenly see it as an investment. People will then "protect" their investment by trying to prevent new projects etc. Nobody would get angry if bread was cheaper the next day, just because they already bought it yesterday.

EDIT: apparently I've been a bit misinformed. I'm not from the US, but EU (Finland) and have understood that our indices don't really include owner-occupied housing in the calculation, but only the direct costs like energy and rent with some weight – which was at least partly the case, but there would seem to be some changes coming. Thanks for the enlightening replies, I'll have to read a bit more into it.

23
9
submitted 5 days ago* (last edited 4 days ago) by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

Python is the most popular programming language and beloved by many. However I can't understand why (this is still the case in 2024).

Here are my main gripes with it:

  • It is slow, performance intensive tasks have to be offloaded to other languages, which makes it complicated to analyse. Moreover I wonder how many kwH could have been saved if programms were written in more performant languages. (and there are better alternatives out there)
  • The missing type system makes it easy to make errors, and the missing compiler makes it hard to catch them
  • It has no linear algebra built in, so you always have to convert things to numpy arrays, which is quite annoying
  • Managing virtual environments and pip packages feels overly complicated

I guess much comes down to personal, but I just can't understand the love for python.

24
-44
submitted 2 days ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]
25
18
submitted 5 days ago* (last edited 5 days ago) by [email protected] to c/[email protected]

You see this shit SO much more often than you would think. And the infuriating thing is, it seems to be most common among programs that are INCREDIBLY complex and sophisticated.

It'll be like this:

"What does my program do? Glad you asked. It simulates stress patterns in glass and ceramics, after they come out of a kiln. You can specify any melting temperature, adjust the composition of elements in the glass, and the ambient temperature of the cooling and tempering stages."

"Wow, can you show me how it works?"

"Sure! "

"O-oh. Do you have any plans to add a graphical user interface?"

"HAHAHAHAHHA, no. That's never happening. And here I thought you were serious about using advanced software, and being an intelligent person."

Obviously, that last part is just kinda implied. But sometimes, when users request a GUI, the goddamn developer will kinda get in their face, like that.

They always fall back on the position of "well, I developed this shit for free, for your ungrateful ass. So you can build your own fucking GUI."

But the thing about that is...no. And fuck you. I shouldn't have to be two-thirds of a fucking developer, in order to use the fucking software.

If you can figure out how to simulate molecules, or draw 3D stereograms, or translate hieroglyphics, or any other RIDICULOUSLY COMPLICATED SHIT, making a graphical user interface should be nothing to you. You should be able to do it in a fucking afternoon.

IT DEFINITELY SHOULD BE THE EASY PART, FOR YOU.

All the rest of us, who aren't programmers? We envy programmers, and their ability to really connect with computers, on that deep logic level.

If we could do that shit, we would. But a lot of us have tried, and we realize it's not a good use of our time. We can do cool stuff with software, but it's just not ever going to be worthwhile for us to struggle through the act of creating software.

Also, I hasten to add that I have put in my time, using command line interfaces. I used DOS, I used BBS systems, I have used modern command-line-only programs. I know how to do it, but I DON'T WANT TO.

I don't want to have to memorize commands. I don't consider a GUI workflow to be some kind of weird luxury. It has been a basic part of modern software, for around 40 years at this point. Literally get with the program, guys.

If you're serious about making software, get your shit together and implement a fucking GUI from the very first release. Nobody ought to be taking you seriously, if you refuse.

view more: next ›

Unpopular Opinion

5301 readers
535 users here now

Rules:

  1. No racism or bigotry.

  2. Be civil: disagreements happen, but that doesn't provide the right to personally insult others.

  3. No spam posting.

  4. Shitposts and memes are allowed until they prove to be a problem. They can and will be removed at moderator discretion.

  5. No trolling.

Instance-wide rules always apply. https://mastodon.world/about

founded 8 months ago
MODERATORS