this post was submitted on 29 Jul 2026
619 points (98.6% liked)

Technology

87572 readers
3616 users here now

This is a most excellent place for technology news and articles.


Our Rules


  1. Follow the lemmy.world rules.
  2. Only tech related news or articles.
  3. Be excellent to each other!
  4. Mod approved content bots can post up to 10 articles per day.
  5. Threads asking for personal tech support may be deleted.
  6. Politics threads may be removed.
  7. No memes allowed as posts, OK to post as comments.
  8. Only approved bots from the list below, this includes using AI responses and summaries. To ask if your bot can be added please contact a mod.
  9. Check for duplicates before posting, duplicates may be removed
  10. Accounts 7 days and younger will have their posts automatically removed.

Approved Bots


founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] DarkCloud@lemmy.world 1 points 3 weeks ago* (last edited 3 weeks ago) (1 children)

I don't think the app does that, it's scanning for pings, not sending out pings. Listening for signals from Meta glasses.... it's not listening to connect with anything, it's just passively listening. Also it only uses blue tooth... I don't know what you're going on about with radio and internet signals.

[–] NihilsineNefas@slrpnk.net 1 points 3 weeks ago (1 children)

So you have to leave bluetooth on, which means your device is broadcasting an active bluetooth signal.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/06/14/opinion/bluetooth-wireless-tracking-privacy.html

If any random shop can use any phone's active bluetooth to track and profile every user that's i side or nearby, I don't want to have bluetooth active when in public. Genuinely not worth it just to fi d some glasshole pervert when my own eyes can do the job without giving away any more of my data. That's what I'm on about.

[–] DarkCloud@lemmy.world 1 points 3 weeks ago

So you have to leave Bluetooth on

No, you can spot a weirdo turn blue tooth on and confirm it, then turn it off.

Look, I don't think this app is for someone like you.