this post was submitted on 05 Oct 2026
227 points (98.3% liked)

Technology

88590 readers
3229 users here now

This is a most excellent place for technology news and articles.


Our Rules


  1. Follow the lemmy.world rules.
  2. Only tech related news or articles.
  3. Be excellent to each other!
  4. Mod approved content bots can post up to 10 articles per day.
  5. Threads asking for personal tech support may be deleted.
  6. Politics threads may be removed.
  7. No memes allowed as posts, OK to post as comments.
  8. Only approved bots from the list below, this includes using AI responses and summaries. To ask if your bot can be added please contact a mod.
  9. Check for duplicates before posting, duplicates may be removed
  10. Accounts 7 days and younger will have their posts automatically removed.

Approved Bots


founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] finley@lemmy.zip -3 points 16 hours ago (2 children)

So, you didn’t read the article

[–] Zak@lemmy.world 17 points 16 hours ago (2 children)

I read the article, and I think DickHertz's comment is pretty much right. The article's example illustrates the point:

For example, Inc. columnist Jason Aten recently discovered that Meta's Muse AI assistant somehow had synced his entire local Messages database and was using those messages as context for its tasks.

Aten did not understand that the Messages database is stored on the disk (presumably) unencrypted and readable by anything with full disk access. He got a result he didn't want because he did not understand the implications of granting that permission, and Apple seeks to add more friction to the process to protect users from making that mistake.

[–] 4am@lemmy.zip 3 points 13 hours ago (1 children)

Even if it was encrypted, it could be unlocked because with full disk access it can read the local private key, which probably doesn’t need a passphrase because it’s be a pain in the ass for the user to retype that every reboot or more

Starting to see why you shouldn’t let any corporate AI loose on your daily driver yet?

[–] Zak@lemmy.world 2 points 10 hours ago

Macs have a hardware secure enclave that apps can use to store keys where other apps can't access them. Apple itself does not seem to be making adequate use of it here.

[–] Grimy@lemmy.world 1 points 11 hours ago

I think his point was that apple would abuse it, like they are already doing. Good thing if implemented properly, bad thing if implemented the apple way.

[–] DickHertz@lemmy.world 7 points 16 hours ago (3 children)

Yeah, I read it. That’s kind of the point. Apple’s adding more guardrails because people will click Allow on damn near anything without thinking about what they’re actually giving access to. 🙄

[–] Wildmimic@anarchist.nexus 2 points 5 hours ago

That really depends on how you design the pop-up dialogue. If it looks like a standard EULA, yeah, most people will just skip reading. If you darken the screen, and use large, flashing warnings with a short and clear info about the limited amount of cases for such a dangerous permission to be ok, they will for sure look closer.

[–] Carl@anarchist.nexus 1 points 13 hours ago

It’s also because Apple’s permissions are hilariously monolithic. A lot of their permissions are set up as an all-or-nothing event, instead of allowing granular control. Full disc access is a great example, where a user should be able to grant access to specific folders and files on an as-needed basis. But that’s not the default behavior. The default behavior is to just go “hey do you wanna give this app access to everything?

[–] plantfanatic@sh.itjust.works -1 points 16 hours ago (2 children)

Or an update adds it without your knowledge…

[–] DickHertz@lemmy.world 10 points 16 hours ago

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think an app could give itself Full Disk Access without the user explicitly approving it, even during an update.

[–] Carl@anarchist.nexus 2 points 13 hours ago

Apps can’t add permissions via an update. If an app adds a new feature with an update that requires a new permission, the user will be prompted the first time the app tries to use that new feature.